Local History – Spen, Batley & Bradford

Local to my shop.

 

History and Description of Oakwell Hall and Manor written by J Sprittles 1946 a forward by Jas. H Margetts Mayor of Batley. A 52 page illustrated booklet £10.00

A Short History of Hartshead Church written by Mabel Ferrett in 1993. At 16 pages it is short but as all publications by Mabel, well put together. £5.00.

A Century of Public Transport in Bradford 1882-1982 by DJ Croft. Occasional Local Publications No. 4 by City of Bradford Met. 24 pages with illustrations. £5.00

Murder Most Foul at Old Carlinghow by Margaret Fox. Published by Harry Hayes in 1986 with permission from the Batley News. The title is only the first of 20 chapters of the “Look Back with Margaret Fox” articles published in the Batley News 48 pages with some illustrations (a couple of Heckmondwike). £10.00

The CENTRAL (Kayes’) COLLEGE (70 New North Road Huddersfield) – Prospectus. Undated but there is a programme from a variety concert put on by the students in 1942 along with a Fees leaflet. This is a 40 page very well illustrated booklet with lots of photo’s of the students. £10.00

One Hundred Years of Local HistoryThe Bradford Historical and Antiquarian Society 1878-1978 by J Reynold and WF Bains. 42 pages with a few illustrations. Interestingly some time in the past a previous owner has made a “correction” on the title page. He/she has crossed out “Local” from the title and written “Society” below. I can understand the frustration as I thought the title ambiguous before I noticed this touch of what I expect is criticism from a disappointed owner. £5.00

PLEASE GET IN TOUCH IF YOU WANT FURTHER DESCRIPTIONS OF ANY ITEM

Local Transport 1870-1940 – Kirklees

Kirklees Camera 1 – I like this collection of photos a wide spread geographic and thematically, good quality prints. £5.00

At Your Service One Hundred Years of The Huddersfield Corporation

A 72 page booklet (not illustrated) published late 60’s. I worked for Kirklees in the 70’s and recognise many of the departments described, but I am sure that one of my colleagues when I was a councillor, Peter McBride, will remember the whole of this history. There are copies of this available on the net, but not as cheap as the £5.00 I am asking.

County Borough of Huddersfield The Tolson Memorial Museum Publications. History of the Huddersfield Woollen Industry

Crump, W.B

Published 1935 132 pages with illustrations, soft cover £9.00

Also;


THE TOLSON MEMORIAL MUSEUM Handbook Angles, Danes & Norse in the District of Huddersfield W.G.Collingwood

Published in 1921 soft cover 64 pages with illustrations £7.50

Slavery in Yorkshire

 This new collection of essays based upon a conference at the University of Huddersfield, generously supported by the Heritage Lottery Fund, explores the links between Richard Oastlers extraordinarily influential campaign against child labour in Yorkshire after 1830 and the remarkably successful campaign to abolish the transatlantic slave trade led by Yorkshire MP William Wilberforce before 1807. With contributions from D. Colin Dews, Dr John Halstead, Dr John A. Hargreaves, Dr Janette Martin, Professor Edward Royle and Professor James Walvin, it evaluates the distinctively Yorkshire context of both movements and offers a re-assessment of Oastlers contribution to their success. It reveals how Oastlers associations with both evangelical Anglicanism and Nonconformity, especially Methodism, stimulated and sustained his involvement in the ten-hour factory movement and examines the role of the regional press, local grass-roots organisation and Oastlers powerful oratory in helping to secure a successful outcome to the campaign. In a foreword, the Revd Dr Inderjit Bhogal, a leading figure in both the regional and national commemoration of the abolition of the transatlantic slave trade in 2007, commends this wide-ranging historical study with its broad perspective as an important contribution to making us all more informed on the whole theme of slavery today.

238 pages very well illustrated.

MY REVIEW ; I did enjoy most of it, one essay was a bit of a struggle, I don’t think I will loose sleep not knowing what date an individual joined a campaign group over 150 years ago. But I did learn how the campaign against slavery was originally driven by the Quakers and it did make me realise the importance of BLM (not that I ever have any doubts about). I have always thought we should have been taught much more about “The Factory King” rather than Royalty, he did much more for my class than years and years of Kings and Queens.

£10.00

Dalesman Publications

I now have 1,101 “Dalesman publications” catalogued (large numbers of “Cumbria” yet to do) please contact me if you are looking for anything in particular.

The Cleckheaton Branch – Mirfield – Heckmondwike – Low Moor

Branchlines of the L&YR #4 The Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Society

Only a 33 page booklet but very hard to find. An Australian dealer is offering a copy on ABE for £11.39 but he is also asking for £27.50 for p&p (I don’t know where he is getting that price from must be personal delivery). Amazon list it as “currently unavailable”.

As the line is now the Spen Valley Greenway and I frequent the excellent café, “The Sunflower Pot” located on the site of Liversedge Station I found the book fascinating, even though it was obviously written for Railway Enthusiasts with great details of gradients and signal boxes etc. The line was opened to passengers in1848 and closed (by the short sighted doctor) in 1965. It did have a reprieve when it was used shortly for a main line diversion, but one track had been lifted and the Stations had been demolished. The County Council bought the stretch from Heckmondwike to Low Moor and later the WYTM sold the line to Sustrans.

I frequently cycle to Low Moor, from Heckmondwike and just to illustrate how hard the return journey is; ” In 1882 when carriages where being shunted at Low Moor ran back down the branch, they gathered speed all the way through to Mirfield. Where they came to rest at Cooper Bridge.

The Master of Liversedge by Alice Chetwynd Ley

I know I should, but I have not read this book, so I can pass no judgement on its historical or “local” content. £2.50 (a third of the Amazon price)

A classic, best-selling Regency romance! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.

Man turns against master under the threat of revolution…

1812, West Riding, Yorkshire

Mary Lister, a young governess, accepts a position at Liversedge Mill. But she arrives in the middle of a violent uproar.

The Luddites – bands of desperate men put out of work by new machines and reduced to starvation – have conspired to smash up the Mill and terrorise its master, the proud and unyielding William Arkwright.

During the stormy weeks that follow her arrival, Mary is torn between her sympathy for the poor and downtrodden of the rebellion, with whom her gentle cousin John Booth has sided, and her unwilling admiration for the indomitable Master of Liversedge.

With whom will she eventually side? Her head or her heart?

THE MASTER OF LIVERSEDGE is a historical saga by Alice Chetwynd Ley: a traditional British, Regency romance novel with the backdrop of social revolution, set in 19th Century England.

LEEDS UNITED THE REVIE YEARS by Con Egan

Frustrating book because it looks mucky with a grotty signature on the front, but that is the book, they are all the same. Though this copy looks scruffy it is unread and as good as you will get, I think. No illustrations and the pages are unnumbered, no one else has bothered to count them, and I haven’t either. Published in 2014, this is what it says about itself;

IMG_20200803_112635

..and this is the guilty cover

IMG_20200803_112611

I am asking for £5.00 for this copy.

In Splendid Isolation by Andrew Bannister / High Royds Hospital Menston

IMG_20200727_132612

A Short History of High Royds Hospital, the former West Riding Pauper Lunatic Asylum at Menston.

Published around 2005 by Leeds Mental Health Teaching NHS Trust, a 42 page well illustrated paperback approx.. 150X200mm. This is a fine copy of this rare book.

The Wakefield Mystery Plays

Wakefield Plays120

464 page hardback with dust jacket £2.50. 400 years ago the Wakefield Mystery Plays would have bee a “to go to” event, this book gives the full text of the thirty two plays.

%d bloggers like this: