Saunterer’s Satchel & West Riding Almanac 1878

I have found (on’t ‘tinternet) 1875 and 1879 for sale (£24 – £35) but no 1878.

This is a working class dialect almanac produced (written?) by James Burnley of Bradford. Though I had not come across this publication, or James Burnley, there is a lot about him out there, this is just a sample;

Increasingly, literary historians are finding forgotten writers from the Victorian era who appear to represent very contemporary concerns. The massive biographies of the great nineteenth century novelists and social critics repeatedly bring to light other, secondary figures on the literary scene who have a profound interest to us now.

Surely, one of these has to be the social critic, journalist and poet, James Burnley. In an age when new enquiries into our sense of region and belonging are being made at an accelerating rate, we should look into his life and achievement. In an anthology published in 1891, he was celebrated as ‘The Saunterer’, and in Bradford history, that is his famous nom de plume. He was a friend of Dickens, contributing to All the Year Round; a local historian; a journalist with a vibrant style and a poet of the entrepreneur. His most successful book was The Romance of Modern Industry, (1889), in which he talks of ‘wealth in rubbish’ and ‘men who have risen’.

Burnley was born in Shipley, near Leeds, in 1842 and began his long publishing career in 1869 with a volume of poems, Idonia. But his talents also extended to the composition of plays, pantomimes, sketches and serious poetry. He became well-known in the West Riding when he began to write as the Saunterer for the Bradford Observer, covering such topics as folklore, eccentrics, scandals, superstitions and of course, literary and cultural matters. He also wrote for the Leeds Mercury and after a series of books celebrating the ‘romance’ of Britain’s industrial achievements, wrote a History of Wool and Wool-Combing.

66 pages, last 12 adverts this copy has magic tape repair to spine is complete and tidy. I am asking £15 for this piece of West Riding History.

The adverts themselves give an example of life (well) before the NHS, how more graphic can an advert get “DO NOT LET YOUR CHILD DIE”

The Master of Liversedge by Alice Chetwynd Ley

I know I should, but I have not read this book, so I can pass no judgement on its historical or “local” content. £2.50 (a third of the Amazon price)

A classic, best-selling Regency romance! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.

Man turns against master under the threat of revolution…

1812, West Riding, Yorkshire

Mary Lister, a young governess, accepts a position at Liversedge Mill. But she arrives in the middle of a violent uproar.

The Luddites – bands of desperate men put out of work by new machines and reduced to starvation – have conspired to smash up the Mill and terrorise its master, the proud and unyielding William Arkwright.

During the stormy weeks that follow her arrival, Mary is torn between her sympathy for the poor and downtrodden of the rebellion, with whom her gentle cousin John Booth has sided, and her unwilling admiration for the indomitable Master of Liversedge.

With whom will she eventually side? Her head or her heart?

THE MASTER OF LIVERSEDGE is a historical saga by Alice Chetwynd Ley: a traditional British, Regency romance novel with the backdrop of social revolution, set in 19th Century England.

LEEDS UNITED THE REVIE YEARS by Con Egan

Frustrating book because it looks mucky with a grotty signature on the front, but that is the book, they are all the same. Though this copy looks scruffy it is unread and as good as you will get, I think. No illustrations and the pages are unnumbered, no one else has bothered to count them, and I haven’t either. Published in 2014, this is what it says about itself;

IMG_20200803_112635

..and this is the guilty cover

IMG_20200803_112611

I am asking for £5.00 for this copy.

In Splendid Isolation by Andrew Bannister / High Royds Hospital Menston

IMG_20200727_132612

A Short History of High Royds Hospital, the former West Riding Pauper Lunatic Asylum at Menston.

Published around 2005 by Leeds Mental Health Teaching NHS Trust, a 42 page well illustrated paperback approx.. 150X200mm. This is a fine copy of this rare book.

SPEN VALLEY – Local History

 

I do have a decent collection of Spen Valley, and Yorkshire, local history books. Because they are so difficult to get hold of I have been reluctant to list them so I have decided to compile a reading list and to mention when I have copies for sale.

History of the SPEN VALLEY 1780 – 1980 – Douglas Hird

Hird Douglas - History of the Spen Valley

An essential book for any Spen Valley collection. Published in 1985 written by Douglas Hird who spent 25 years as a reporter in the Spen Valley.  Up until being nine year old he attended Brighton Street Junior and Infants School, but moved out when his family emigrated (to Dewsbury).

The book is well illustrated and has an index. Overlaps a bit with Peel but brings us well into 20th century. Unlike Thompson, this is a very entertaining read (written by a journalist and not a Librarian, not that I have anything against librarians that is). It does have many interesting facts that you will not find elsewhere. Not as detailed as some of the SV personal memoirs, but in some way more entertaining for that.

It is getting much harder to find. I only have one copy for sale, at £30.00

 

 

SPEN VALLEY – Reading list

The SPEN VALLEY a local History by Thomas William Thompson

Published in 1925 it originally appeared in the Heckmondwike Herald in column format, the deal done was to not take payment for in cash, but the type should be used to publish a limited edition in book form. That is why the book has very wide margins.
Thompson was the Librarian in Heckmondwike Library I don’t think he had any formal training as an Historian. The book is 355 pages long and usefully has an index but no illustrations. Overfull of lists of men, in some cases with questionable merit as to the reason for inclusion. The book for the most part looks to the History of the Spen Valley through the lens of the History of England with not a great deal of real “local” content, unless you count the lists of men.
I must admit I didn’t get off to a good start when he seemed to imply that prior to the Roman Conquest the Valley was inhabited by tribes of Hunter Gatherers, he seems to have missed the Bronze and Iron age altogether. I must excuse a lot of his opinions as writing in the 20’s the “Dark Ages” were still dark. He is very skimpy on two themes that are very much of Spen Valley History, the Luddites and Chartists.
Whatever my views, if you are seriously into Local History you need to read this book. If you are building a Spen Valley Book collection you need to own one.
I currently have a copy for sale for £45

SPEN VALLEY in old picture postcards by Gillian Cookson

IMG_20200403_121138
Published by European Library, Netherlands written Gillian Cookson in 1988 this a 8”X6” hard back is much more than it says on the tin. Yes, it is based on 76 postcards, but each is backed up by research from a highly skilled professional historian who adds commentary to each card that is readable informative and interesting.

The Gate Hangs High – Mildred Coldwell

Published in 1987 by Kirklee s Council an account of her growing up in the Spen Valley between the Wars. Well written illustrated by Barbara Ellis.

The Brontes in the Spen Valley – Mabel Ferrett

Originally published as Shirley Country in 1973 revised in 1997 102 pages Illustrated by Stanley Chapman with an index. My irrational antipathy to the cult of the Brontes has prevented me from reading this but having read other works by Mabel I have no doubts about readability.

Images of England SPEN VALLEY compiled by Norman Ellis

First printed in 2001 by Tempus 23cm X 16cm a 128 page soft cover book with two illustrations per page and accompanying text. Obviously as the images of the title are photographs the history it covers are mainly from 20th century. Though it is crammed full of photographs, many of which I have not seen in any other publications, there are copious notes that add much to the illustrations. A well put together addition to any Spen Valley collection.
I currently have a very good reprint for sale for £10.00

The Wakefield Mystery Plays

Wakefield Plays120

464 page hardback with dust jacket £2.50. 400 years ago the Wakefield Mystery Plays would have bee a “to go to” event, this book gives the full text of the thirty two plays.

Working Class

Just a couple more to add to my shelves. Both at £2.50.


Rule John The Labouring Classes in Early Industrial England 1750 -1850 … Longman 0 4th 1991 vg+ £2.50
Lancaster Bill Radicalism Cooperation & Socialism Leicester working-class politics 1860 – 1906 Leicester  University Press  1st 1987 HB/dj vg+ £2.50

 

DALESMAN – Partial update

Just added two new Dalesman publications to my stock that takes me up to 999 different magazines and books. Both these titles I am offering for £2.50 but as my next acquisition will be my 1000th it is about time to have another go at cataloguing them.

Just to give a flavour of some of the other titles.

Dalesman Mini Books

Dalesman 39 to 44

Sorry they are so small but you can get the gist.

 

The Pageant of Thornhill 1952

Pageant of Thornhill 127

I have a paper copy and a presentation copy of this item. 72 pages of adverts the details of the pageant and some notes on Thornhill history. As I can’t find these items offered anywhere else ontinternet I am asking £10.00 for the paper copy and £20.00 for the hardbound copy.

Pageant of Thornhill 128

The complexity of the adverts range from Diss & Son’s ornate clock to Tom Green’s “what it says on the tin style”.

%d bloggers like this: