DOCTOR SYN

Russell Thorndike – DOCTOR SYN

Stock

AutherTitlePublisherPriceConditionDateEdition
Thorndike RussellDocter Syn ReturnsArrow£3.00vg19632nd
Thorndike RussellDoctor SynArrow£2.50vg19662nd
Thorndike RussellDoctor Syn on the High SeasArrow£1.00g+1966rep
Thorndike RussellThe Amazing Quest of Doctor SynArrow£1.00vg-1966r
Thorndike RussellThe Courageous Exploits of Doctor SynArrow£2.50vg19663rd
Thorndike RussellThe Further Adventures of Doctor SynArrow£1.00g1963rep
Thorndike RussellThe Shadow of Doctor SynArrow£2.50vg1972rep
Thorndike RussellThe Shadow of Doctor SynArrow£3.50vg+19641st
Thorndike RussellThe Water WitchArrow£4.00vg+1st

DOCTOR SYN – Russell Thrndike

1966 Arrow edition Posted to your UK address (or any other UK address if you wish)

£4.00

The Master of Liversedge by Alice Chetwynd Ley

I know I should, but I have not read this book, so I can pass no judgement on its historical or “local” content. £2.50 (a third of the Amazon price)

A classic, best-selling Regency romance! For fans of Georgette Heyer, Mary Balogh, Jane Aiken Hodge and Jane Austen.

Man turns against master under the threat of revolution…

1812, West Riding, Yorkshire

Mary Lister, a young governess, accepts a position at Liversedge Mill. But she arrives in the middle of a violent uproar.

The Luddites – bands of desperate men put out of work by new machines and reduced to starvation – have conspired to smash up the Mill and terrorise its master, the proud and unyielding William Arkwright.

During the stormy weeks that follow her arrival, Mary is torn between her sympathy for the poor and downtrodden of the rebellion, with whom her gentle cousin John Booth has sided, and her unwilling admiration for the indomitable Master of Liversedge.

With whom will she eventually side? Her head or her heart?

THE MASTER OF LIVERSEDGE is a historical saga by Alice Chetwynd Ley: a traditional British, Regency romance novel with the backdrop of social revolution, set in 19th Century England.

Dennis Wheatley

I Thought I had a good collection of his works, I knew he was prolific ( not John Creasey or Michael Moorcock prolific but prolific just the same) over 70 books. I do have, paperbacks, hardbacks, hardbacks with dust jackets and some 1st editions (one signed) in stock, mostly at £2.50 each but a few at £5.00. I have highlighted titles I have in stock in red on the bibliography below.

Dennis Yates Wheatley (1897 – 1977) was an English author whose prolific output of stylish thrillers and occult novels made him one of the world’s best-selling writers from the 1930s through the 1960s. His Gregory Sallust series was one of the main inspirations for Ian Fleming’s James Bond stories.

Born in South London, he was the eldest of three children of an upper-middle-class family, the owners of Wheatley & Son of Mayfair, a wine business. He admitted to little aptitude for schooling, and was expelled from Dulwich College. Soon after his expulsion Wheatley became a British Merchant Navy officer cadet on the training ship HMS Worcester.

During the Second World War, Wheatley was a member of the London Controlling Section, which secretly coordinated strategic military deception and cover plans. His literary talents gained him employment with planning staffs for the War Office. He wrote numerous papers for the War Office, including suggestions for dealing with a German invasion of Britain.

Dennis Wheatley died on 11th November 1977. During his life he wrote over 70 books and sold over 50 million copies.

 

 

Duke de Richleau series
The Forbidden Territory (Adventure, January 1933) – filmed in 1934
The Devil Rides Out (Occult/Romance, December 1934) – filmed in 1968
The Golden Spaniard (Adventure, August 1938)
Three Inquisitive People (Crime, February 1940)
Strange Conflict (Occult, April 1941)
Codeword – Golden Fleece (Espionage, May 1946)
The Second Seal (Historical/Espionage, November 1950)
The Prisoner in the Mask (Historical/Espionage, September 1957)
Vendetta in Spain (Historical/Espionage, August 1961)
Dangerous Inheritance (Crime, August 1965)
Gateway to Hell (Occult, August 1970)
Gregory Sallust series
Black August (Science Fiction/Adventure, January 1934)
Contraband (Espionage, October 1936)
The Scarlet Impostor (Espionage, January 1940)
Faked Passports (Espionage, June 1940)
The Black Baroness (Espionage/Crime, October 1940)
V for Vengeance (Espionage, March 1942)
Come into My Parlour (Espionage, November 1946)
The Island Where Time Stands Still (Espionage, September 1954)
Traitors’ Gate (Espionage, September 1958)
They Used Dark Forces (Espionage/Occult, October 1964)
The White Witch of the South Seas (Crime/Occult, August 1968)
Julian Day novels
The Quest of Julian Day (Adventure/Romance, January 1939)
The Sword of Fate (Adventure/Romance, September 1941)
Bill for the Use of a Body (Crime, April 1964)
Roger Brook series
The Launching of Roger Brook (Historical/Espionage, July 1947)
The Shadow of Tyburn Tree (Historical/Espionage, May 1948)
The Rising Storm (Historical/Espionage, October 1949)
The Man Who Killed the King (Historical/Espionage, November 1951)
The Dark Secret of Josephine (Historical/Espionage, March 1955)
The Rape of Venice (Historical/Espionage, October 1959)
The Sultan’s Daughter (Historical/Espionage, August 1963)
The Wanton Princess (Historical/Espionage, August 1966)
Evil in a Mask (Historical/Espionage, August 1969)
The Ravishing of Lady Mary Ware (Historical/Espionage, August 1971)
The Irish Witch (Historical/Espionage/Occult, August 1973)
Desperate Measures (Historical/Espionage, September 1974)
Molly Fountain / Colonel Verney novels
To the Devil – a Daughter (Occult, January 1953) – filmed in 1976
The Satanist (Occult, August 1960)
Other occult novels
The Haunting of Toby Jugg [Toby Jugg] (Occult, December 1948) – filmed in 2006 as The Haunted Airman
The Ka of Gifford Hillary [Gifford Hillary] (Occult/Science Fiction, July 1956)
Unholy Crusade [‘Lucky’ Adam Gordon] (Historical Adventure/Occult, August 1967)
Science fiction novels
Sixty Days to Live (X). [Lavinia Leigh and others] (Apocalyptic, August 1939)
Star of Ill-Omen (X). [Kem Lincoln] (Alien abduction, May 1952)
“Lost World” novels
They Found Atlantis [Camilla and others] (January 1936)
Uncharted Seas [Various] (January 1938) – filmed in 1968 as The Lost Continent
The Man Who Missed the War (X). [Philip Vaudell] (November 1945)

Other adventure/espionage novels
Such Power is Dangerous [Avril Bamborough] (Adventure, June 1933)
The Fabulous Valley [The Heirs of John Thomas Long] (Adventure, August 1934)
The Eunuch of Stamboul [Swithin Destime] (Espionage, July 1935) – filmed in 1936 as Secret of Stamboul
The Secret War [Sir Anthony Lovelace, Christopher Pen, Valerie Lorne] (Espionage, January 1937)
Curtain of Fear [Nicholas Novák] (Espionage, October 1953)
Mayhem in Greece [Robbie Grenn] (Espionage, August 1962)
The Strange Story of Linda Lee [Linda Lee] (Crime/Adventure, August 1972)

%d bloggers like this: